Going Places! Raw Flax Crackers

Going places I’ve never gone before.  I will share with you along my journey!

As I mentioned in some of my earlier posts, I have been trying to incorporate more “live foods” (raw) into my diet.  I lost a few pounds a few years ago when I went from eating a S.A.D (Standard American Diet) to eating about 90% raw.  I didn’t get into the more time-consuming or creative aspect of it.  I basically had lots of salads, smoothies, and fresh fruits!

Why raw crackers?  Well, for me, it’s the crunch addiction!  I know that if I can still have things that I enjoy in my diet, it makes changing my way of eating that much easier for me.  If I deprive myself of thing my body craves, I fall of the wagon.  Sometimes it’s hard to get back up.  That’s why I know for me, for my body, I know that I likely would not ever do 100% raw.   Also soaking raw flax and dehydrating at 115 degrees, I know that I’m consuming something live, something raw.

Enough rambling and onto the recipe!

Raw Flax Crackers

Raw Flax Crackers

Raw Flax Crackers (Raw/GF/Veg/Vegan)

Ingredients:

2 C Flax Seed

2 C Water

1 Jalapeno

1/2 Red Pepper

1 T Garlic Powder

3/4 T Onion Powder

1/4 T Sea Salt

Directions:

Soak flax seed in water for  2-3 hours.  It will form a 'gel-like' consistency.

Soak flax seed in water for 2-3 hours. It will form a ‘gel-like’ consistency.

 

Process jalapeano and red pepper til minced.

Process jalapeno and red pepper til minced.

Measure out garlic & onion powder, and sea salt.  Add to minced peppers and add all to gelled flax seed.  Mix til well combined.

Measure out garlic & onion powder, and sea salt. Add to minced peppers and add all to gelled flax-seed. Mix til well combined.

Spread as thin as you can get it on dehydrator trays or parchment paper and dehydrate at 115 degrees for 8 hours or until dry and crispy.  Flip over after about 4 hours.

Spread as thin as you can get it on dehydrator trays or parchment paper and dehydrate at 115 degrees for 8 hours or until dry and crispy. Flip over after about 4 hours.

Store in an airtight container.  Should keep for about 5 – 7 days.

This recipe is a little on the mild side, if you like really spicy, really hot foods, try adding another jalapeno or a habanero pepper.  For an interesting variation you could also substitute the onion/garlic powder for 2 T of taco seasoning or Chili powder!If you change it up, let me know how it is!

Happy crunching!


5 thoughts on “Going Places! Raw Flax Crackers

Leave a Reply

